|In 1999, the Texas Department of Public Safety reported that 99 Texas women were killed
by their intimate male partners. In the same year, 177, 176 incidents of family violence were reported to
law enforcement. However, the Texas Department of Human Services estimates that 841, 654 women were
physically abused in Texas in 1999. Protective Orders are important in ending family violence. Its
purpose is to:
What is a Protective Order?
A Protective Order is a legal document signed by a District Court Judge after a hearing that may prohibit the offender from:
You may file an application for a Protective Order at the County Attorney's Office, Family Protective Order Unit located at the Nueces County Courthouse, 901 Leopard, room 207, and Telephone number 361-888-0391. The office is open Monday through Friday from 8:00 A.M. until 5:00 P.M. and closed from 12 noon until 1:00.
Who Can File for This Type of Order?
Effective September 1, 2001 includes:
You are required to complete an application form giving information on yourself, as a victim, and information of the abuser. An advocate can assist if needed. You may also be referred to other agencies, including the District Attorney's Office to file charges for a criminal offense.
What Information is Needed?
In order to provide you with a Protective Order, the following is needed:
Upon you calling or appearing in person, an application will be provided and a date will be scheduled for an interview. After the interview, an attorney will review the application. Once the application for Protective Order is accepted for filing all documentation will be prepared. There will be two hearings in which you will be present. They are:
If Respondent is served, a final Order may be entered without his/her presence.How Long Does a Protective Order Last?
An Ex-Parte Order is in effect for 20 days. A final Protective Order (after the final hearing) is in effect up to 2 years from the date issued.
What if the Respondent Violates the Order?
If the Respondent violates the Ex-Parte Order, you may file civil contempt. There is a hearing, a Judge may find a violation and orders a fine up to $500.00 or jail up to 6 months, or both can be imposed. If there is a violation of the Protective Order (final hearing order), you may file a criminal case with the District Attorney's Office for a misdemeanor offense of Violation of Protective Order. The District Attorney's office is located in the Nueces County Courthouse, 901 Leopard, Room 206. For more information you may contact them at 361-888-0286.